South Shields Daily Photo

A collection of images from South Shields and the North of England

Saturday Sanddancer Scene #28

leave a comment »

Loch Shiel

Loch Shiel

The latest submissions from the members of Curly’s Corner Shop Message Board have been of a very high standard and I’m delighted to be able to present three pictures from the latest challenge which I set them. Today’s picture is of Loch Shiel which is situated 20 Km west of Fort William, Lochaber, Scotland, and it was submitted by South Shields man Brian Paget, I liked it’s strong composition with the eye being led along the rope to the boat on the loch, also his good sense in using a tripod for the longer exposure.

Brian had this to say about his picture:

I’m chuffed my shot got chosen.   I took it early-ish morning looking North across Loch Shiel from the Loch Shiel Hotel’s landing in Acharacle (pronounced Ah-harra-cul).  I took a series of shots mostly just to try out my new Sigma 10-20mm wide angle lens, experimenting with different combinations of aperture and exposure settings.  Although I had set up with a tripod and remote shutter release I didn’t expect the mirror effect as there was a slight breeze.  This shot was pure luck just a couple of minutes after the wind suddenly dropped, turning a lightly rippled black surface to a mixture of still mirror blending to window to the loch bed.  I didn’t really appreciate the shot until I’d loaded it onto my laptop.

The greatest feeling I recall were the midge bites; they were swarming around me, oblivious to the lashings of repellent I’d applied.

I’m sure you will agree it is a terrific shot.

To stay up to date with my personal pictorial postings please go to South Shields Daily Pictures.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Written by curly

September 4, 2010 at 9:52 am

Posted in Colour, Landscapes

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

