South Shields Daily Photo

A collection of images from South Shields and the North of England

Ceilidh

with 4 comments

South Marine Park, South Shields

South Marine Park

Just to prove that the newly restored Victorian band stand in the South Marine Park is getting used for the purpose for which it was intended. South Shields folks can now enjoy regular music here in the summer months from brass and silver bands to folk musicians who play a few Irish jigs and create a ceilidh.

It was an entertaining and relaxing way to pass an hour in the sunshine.

Camera details : Pentax K100D, 28mm lens, 1/1000 second, f3.5, iso 200

Map

Thanks for your interest in coming here, but after three years of filling this photoblog with a picture every day I am finding it more and more difficult to find the inspiration to post, or that new view that I haven’t photographed before. As a project in promoting what I believe is the best that my home town has to offer I think I can say that it has been a success, but all good things must come to an end, and therefore I will be making my final daily posting on this blog at the end of this month. I may make one or more postings after that, but I will not be posting on a daily basis, and the site will be left available for those wishing to look at my pictures of South Shields and the north of England.

I’d like to thank all of my colleagues in the City Daily Photo community who have kindly visited regularly, and all those others who have been gracious enough to leave comments, perhaps you would all like to follow me as I have started a new project on the Aminus3 platform which is far more conducive to photoblogging and has the familiar forward and backward navigation that one comes to expect from a photoblog. If you would care to have a look at, and if you wish bookmark, South Shields Daily Pictures, you will find me there in the future.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Written by curly

August 9, 2009 at 12:01 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. To me it was the beautiful arcitecture of the place where the band is playing,- that caught my eye first.
    (I can understand that after 3 years of posting new photos, you must have difficulties finding something new all the time…Well, I have only posted 50 photos so fare.
    Anyway, I hope you do post “something” fromtime to time!
    Nice blog, and you should perhaps made a book (for sale) about your city??

    Gunn White

    August 9, 2009 at 6:32 am

  2. […] This post was Twitted by Curly15 […]

    Twitted by Curly15

    August 9, 2009 at 8:23 pm

  3. I’ve enjoyed your blog very much in the six months or so since I discovered it! But I understand the problem of a daily post. Thanks for all the wonderful pictures.

    Jenny

    August 9, 2009 at 11:18 pm

  4. Thanks for the time and effort of putting South Shields Daily Photo online. Even though it’s just one photo each day, it’s surprisingly difficult to keep up long term. i’ve very much enjoyed your photo’s and I wish you luck with your new ventures! Cheers, Curly!

    Cassandra

    August 10, 2009 at 2:57 am


Leave a Reply

