South Shields Daily Photo

A collection of images from South Shields and the North of England

The rock at night

with one comment

Marsden Rock, South Shields

Marsden Rock

I’m going through one of those periods when I’m short of new material for this site, so it became necessary to dive into the archives to find this picture of Marsden Rock, South Shields at night.

I took this in 2005 on a small 2 Mp Konica Revio camera, I cannot remember much about it other than it was cold and I struggled to get the camera mounted on to the tripod in the dark. There was a bulb setting to hold the shutter open and I think I exposed for about 20 seconds, and as you can see it produced a lot of digital noise. I think I must have used a noise removing filter in Photoshop but is a good comparison to the quality of digital work which which we are able to produce just four years later. The light at the right hand side is coming from the Marsden Grotto pub, which is set into the caves below the cliffs.

It’s a good reminder to get out one night and try and do it again with my DSLR.

Map

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Written by curly

June 21, 2009 at 12:01 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice one I like it. My first digi was (stil works) a Konica Minolta 2mp. I thought it was magic at the time. MikeM

    MikeM

    June 21, 2009 at 7:41 pm


Leave a Reply

