South Shields Daily Photo

A collection of images from South Shields and the North of England

Sun sets on 2008

with 19 comments

River Tyne at South Shields

River Tyne at South Shields

Well, that’s another year gone by, two and one third years of South Shields Daily Photo, gone in the blink of an eye with post number 888.

Although it has been enjoyable, and at times frustrating, it has always been hard work maintaining this site and finding the inspiration to go out and photograph this locality for people around the world to see and wonder at. I cannot pretend that 2009 will be exactly like the last two years, I like to bring you something fresh and new every day, but sometimes it is difficult and I don’t want to start repeating the same scenes over and over again. The summer months are without doubt easier, there is much more going on with variety being the name of the game, but winter and spring present their own sets of problems, there is less activity, the sky is never blue, the light is always flat and dull and inspiration and motivation are harder to find.

Unless I start to get more personally involved in other people’s lives I’m afraid this photoblog may become a bit less daily than it says on the tin!

Thank you to everyone who has visited this site during 2008, and even more thanks to those who were kind enough to leave a comment, I’m afraid I have not been so good in reciprocating, I will try a little harder next year.

I hope 2009 brings a little more hope and inspiration for you, and at the least I hope that you all enjoy good health if nothing else.

This is the scene as the sun sets behind the River Tyne as seen from the Mill Dam in South Shields, the DFDS ferry is getting ready to sail to Amsterdam and a few cranes are unloading cargo at Tyne Dock. I rather like the Victorian styled street lamps which are just coming to life on the left.

Camera details: Konica Minolta Dimage Z3, 65mm lens, 1/60 second, f3.5, iso 50

Map

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Written by curly

December 31, 2008 at 12:01 am

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. More gorgeous work. I enjoy your photography very much even if I don’t get around to many comments. You set very high standards for this community. Best wishes for 2009.

    Bob

    Bob Crowe

    December 31, 2008 at 3:29 am

  2. Have a happy new year, Curly! I love your photoblog, it’s a lighthouse to me, always showing me that I’m close to the shore; it’s hard to feel that way when I’m all the way back home in Argentina. It also brings back so many memories of my days spent in North Shields and around. Thank you for keeping this blog going!
    Best wishes!

    Jorgelina

    December 31, 2008 at 11:37 am

  3. belle carte et bel effet de neige. Les couleurs sont magnifiques. J’espère que vous trouverez la force de continuer, même si je ne laisse pas toujours un message, je trouve vos photos très belles, et puis vous êtes un pilier de la communauté CDP. Je vous souhaite une bonne et heureuse année 2009 et encore plein de nouvelles photos.
    beautiful card and beautiful effect snow. The colors are beautiful. I hope you find the strength to continue, even if I do not always leave a message, I find your beautiful pictures, and then you are a pillar of the community CDP. I wish you a happy new year 2009 and still full of new photos.

    Olivier

    December 31, 2008 at 1:22 pm

  4. hi curly, i know exactly how you feel about maintaining the daily photo blog for your town. although i am sure that i can find material for 1000 days a year, it is getting time consuming to write up a decent post every day, so i’ll probably be joining you by NOT posting every day at hania daily photo

    even though the world is a terrible place at the moment, i hope that something good will happen next year which will make us forget the last one

    happy new year
    maria from haniadailyphoto.blogspot.com

    maria verivaki

    December 31, 2008 at 2:14 pm

  5. Dear Curly, I understand perfectly about the dilemma daily posting often brings; I, too, have been less than faithful this past year…certainly less so than in previous years. I shall continue to visit you from time to time, just to be certain that you’re still with us! In February I’ll be in Mazatlan, Mexico again which always revitalizes me so come visit again in another month. It is my hope that you will have good health and much happiness in 2009!! Happy New Year.

    Kate

    December 31, 2008 at 2:40 pm

  6. Happy New Year and congratulations on over two years of daily posts. That is an accomplishment that can really be appreciated by a fellow blogger. I don’t comment too often but usually check your site and always enjoy seeing your high quality images. I hope you find inspiration and keep posting even if only a few days a week. Cheers.

    Cluelessinboston

    December 31, 2008 at 2:41 pm

  7. You’ve had an incredible run, Curly and you’ve been a beacon for all us DCPBers. Your great photos, high standards and committment have been inspiring. Perhaps more inspiration will come to you as you relax a bit on the “daily” posting. I have not made time to comment often but I have enjoyed seeing South Shields through your eyes . . . thank you. Happiness and good health to you and yours in the New Year!

    slim

    December 31, 2008 at 3:06 pm

  8. This is a stunning photo! Very beautiful. Thanks for the new year’s wishes and for your wonderful site. I hope you have a very happy 2009.

    Sharon (Phoenix Daily Photo)

    December 31, 2008 at 3:34 pm

  9. By all means take it easy and don’t worry about not every day – I’m thinking about it myself with post #1000 tomorrow (+1) – just don’t disappear altogether as then we really would miss you muchly.

    Gerald

    December 31, 2008 at 3:55 pm

  10. tous mes voeux de bonheur, de joie, de santé et de paix à vos proches et vous même !

    john leroux

    December 31, 2008 at 4:48 pm

  11. Sorry to hear you wont be popping up every single day .. have a happy new year and we’ll be keeping an eye open looking for your new posts as they happen!

    Daryl

    December 31, 2008 at 5:01 pm

  12. Curly, you’ve put your finger very precisely on all the issues. I suspect you will be back quite soon, even if not daily. You’ve done a good service to Sth Shields and folk on the CDP have obviously loved your regular offerings. I certainly have. You’ve shown the character of the place and put your own stamp on it.

    Greetings and much happiness to you.

    Chuckeroon

    December 31, 2008 at 5:21 pm

  13. All the best for 2009. I look forward to your images whenever you get a chance to post them

    Mo

    December 31, 2008 at 5:31 pm

  14. Hey – just wanted to say thanks for your message on Newcastle Daily Photo. I’ve seen links to your site before but never had a look around but I should come here more – your photos are amazing. What about seeing if there’s anyone else who would be interested in contributing?

    All the best for 2009.

    Beth

    December 31, 2008 at 5:50 pm

  15. Utterly beautiful, Curly! I know what you mean by finding it difficult to find inspiring subjects after doing it daily for over two years. But I hope you will continue to share South Shields with us!

    Thanks for visiting Norwich Daily Photo. Happy 2009!

    joy
    A Pinay In England
    Your Love Coach
    I, Woman

    joy

    December 31, 2008 at 6:02 pm

  16. Happy New Year Curly,
    I haven’t commented much but have been regular visitor for as long as I can remember. As my blog is well into its 3rd year I dare say that understand how you feel. Blogs like yours are rare in the DP community and I believe the source of inspiration that have attracted some and kept others going… So cheers for a great new year and all the photographic opportunities and surprises that may wait for us just around the corner! Have a great year!

    Lachezar

    December 31, 2008 at 6:52 pm

  17. Curly, I too visit regularly, comment little, and would encourage you to keep posting, even if it’s not daily!

    Have a great 2009 and hopefully find some inspiration!

    Cheers!

    bitingmidge

    December 31, 2008 at 9:13 pm

  18. Happy New Year! I’ve only been doing this for four months and I see how hard it is to sustain the enthusiasm… you’ve done brilliantly to have made it 2 and a half years! I encourage you to continue, in what ever frequency you decide. I will always check in even if I don’t comment.

    Sarah

    January 1, 2009 at 8:34 am

  19. Hi Curly, I know how you feel. I really struggle sometimes and so ‘cheat’ with photos sometimes just to keep the daily ritual up. You’ve taken some really great photos, very colourful and dramatic in the past and I’m sure you’ll find some inspiration from somewhere. Old tourist guides for instance, or look at some old postcards. Keep up the good work, we’d miss you.

    Gails_man

    January 1, 2009 at 2:25 pm


Leave a Reply

