South Shields Daily Photo

A collection of images from South Shields and the North of England

Post no. 750!

with 37 comments

Pictures of South Shields

South Shields Daily Photo is two years old

I never imagined in August 2006 that this photoblog would manage to succeed in the way that it has, bringing views of South Shields and other places in northern England to readers far and wide. I’ll be honest, after the first year I thought that it would be difficult to maintain the enthusiasm and find the inspiration to look for a new picture each and every day of the year, and sometimes the inspiration has been lacking (you can tell by the poor quality of some of the pictures and the posts). The one thing that has kept me going and interested has been the regular feedback from other photobloggers around the world and the community that makes up the ring of City Daily Photo bloggers.

I also get asked occasionally to supply prints to ex-pat Geordies in the UK, that is gratifying too, or the correspondence via email gives me a buzz which confirms that people are coming back to learn and see what is happening in their old home town these days.

Looking at the stats it is sometimes amusing and bewildering to note which pictures and posts are attracting the most attention from internet searchers around the world, the composition above (click to enlarge) shows the ten pictures that have racked up the most views over the past couple of years, all have been viewed over 1000 times. Yet only two of them are amongst my personal favourites! Search engines play a strange role don’t they!

So thanks for your continued support and encouragement, I shall endeavour to get around as many of the vast amount of CDP blogs as I can this weekend, and hope and pray that I can keep this photoblog going through year three!

Why not have a look through the archives or categories this weekend?

Top Ten Posts

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Written by curly

August 17, 2008 at 12:01 am

37 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would travel in the 1970’s throughout your area. I remember the “brand new” A19!
    It’s a beautiful area and after a while I was able to understand the local dialect.

    Astonian

    August 17, 2008 at 1:44 am

  2. Congratulations!
    First of all I must tell you how much I have enjoyed your photography throughout these 2 years.
    As my blog happens to be just 3 days older than yours :), I can appreciate your time and dedications to provide such amazing quality photography day after day, after day!
    Once again, my admiration to you.
    Cheers!

    Lachezar

    August 17, 2008 at 4:55 am

  3. Hello, I’ve just discovered your blog, congratulations for your 2 year contribution. I hope you have more to come .You have some very beautiful shots that and I will be back to visit.

    nadine

    August 17, 2008 at 6:00 am

  4. Congratulations!
    Your wonderful art-photography impressions of life, city and nature are joy for my eyes and soul.
    Cheers!

    antonia

    August 17, 2008 at 7:13 am

  5. Thanks for all the beautiful photos & for posting for 2 years! I still have many more to explore & look forward to it. BTW the ceiling shot from a few days ago would make my top 10 of your photos.

    tash

    August 17, 2008 at 8:30 am

  6. Great stuff Curly – I remember some of your early posts – I can understand why the horse-riders get a lot of hits and can imagine how dissapointed many of those searchers will be – but you never know they may find something they do like – the rest of us do anyway.

    Gerald

    August 17, 2008 at 9:08 am

  7. Congratulations!
    I look forward for the 3rd birthday of your blog. Keep up the good work. I’m sure there are still lots of unseen things in South Shields. Our world is too much big that we could summarize it into number of photos. Look around, you’ll find many subjects to take photo. How many people live in South Shields? Each of them can be a subject. Thank you Gerald.

    Meead

    August 17, 2008 at 10:26 am

  8. Congrats on your two years! Keep up the good work!

    Sara

    August 17, 2008 at 10:58 am

  9. Congratulations. A long time but a job well done, no doubt about it.

    Abraham Lincoln

    August 17, 2008 at 10:59 am

  10. Congratulations!!!
    Looking forward to see your images the next year! 🙂
    Thank you for the nice comment in my new blog.
    Greetings

    JM

    August 17, 2008 at 11:53 am

  11. Wow Curly, two years of posting. I am looking forward to seeing many more years of photos from you

    Greg

    August 17, 2008 at 12:21 pm

  12. congratulations!! well done, keep up a good work.
    regards from a sunny and very hot Tuzla!

    jazzy

    August 17, 2008 at 12:26 pm

  13. Congrats on two years. It is strange what excites oneself and others about certain photos. And it is fun trying to decide which photo to post. Also amazing the type of photos we all take and even if it means using our imagination. Thanks for visiting my blog. MB

    MaryBeth

    August 17, 2008 at 1:37 pm

  14. Curly,

    Congrats on two years! I know exactly how you feel, as I am a week away from that milestone as well. It’s funny how certain names on your comments list just bring a smile to your face, like a visit from an old friend, even though you have never met! At one year, I thought: Great, I finally did it, now I can rest. That lasted around 10 days, and I found that posting had become a part of me. It is almost like I NEED to do it now! A change is in the wind for us, and no matter where I go, I suspect I will be posting for a long time to come.

    Keep up the good work. While I don’t get out to other sites in a regular basis, I always enjoy my periodic visits to the North of England!

    Your Friend in Delta,
    Bill

    Bill, Delta CO

    August 17, 2008 at 2:10 pm

  15. Congratulations.

    Your reflections are very similar to those of my own. After the first year I was not sure I would continue. After the second year I realized that I cannot stop.

    Your photography is outstanding. My personal favorite is of the QE2 posted on September 22nd 2007.

    denton

    August 17, 2008 at 2:14 pm

  16. Happy Birthday, two year old 🙂 The images garnering the most views all appear to be good photos, but there are a few in there that are exceptional. The RAF is very well composed in particular.

    I know the angst of new every day, too. What I’ve had to cut back on is making the rounds of all the other excellent blogs and leaving comments. I was spending 2-3 hours every day when I should have been working. Sad, because there is so much stuff out there in our community that deserves attention. Thanks for your comment and visit today, Curly. Congratulations!!

    Chuck

    August 17, 2008 at 2:48 pm

  17. hey that’s wonderful. Keep up the great work!
    I know how tough it can be sometimes to keep posting and finding something interesting to say. It’s hard work, but there are great rewards, too.

    Hooray!!!

    kitty

    August 17, 2008 at 2:50 pm

  18. Curly, first of all many congratulations. Two years is a tremendous achievement. Well done. You always post such excellent photograph and I look forward to the next year.

    By the way, the comment you are leaving on people’s blogs today, including mine – thankyou – well, the link you give doesn’t work. your name works as a live link, but not the link you leave at the end of your message.

    Jilly

    August 17, 2008 at 3:11 pm

  19. Best wishes for your second year. Nottingham reached 2 in March & so I know how difficult it is sometimes to find a subject interesting enough to publish. I do like the vivid colouring you use on your pictures, which makes them very distinctive. Here’s to year 3.

    Gails_man

    August 17, 2008 at 3:11 pm

  20. Congratulations!
    Happy 2nd Birthday to SouthShieldsDailyPhoto.

    Mumbai Daily Snapshot

    Anu

    August 17, 2008 at 4:19 pm

  21. Hi, thank you for your encouragement and compliment. 🙂 It’s much appreciated.

    my life in montreal

    August 17, 2008 at 4:39 pm

  22. Congratulations, Curly! I stop by but don’t always comment (as you know). Sorry for that. i do, however, enjoy your blog very much. I hope to see your blog for many more years!

    Chris

    August 17, 2008 at 4:44 pm

  23. It`s certainly worth congratulations!
    You photos have always been extremely good quality and very interesting.

    I wish a good week to you!

    Leena

    August 17, 2008 at 6:17 pm

  24. Congratulations! More photos on your blog!!! (Supposedly power lol) Have a nice week and enjoy more posts!

    G_mirage

    August 17, 2008 at 9:13 pm

  25. Big congratulations. I had the plaesure of living this way for a very short time and you certainly do it justice. I agree you never know which image will appeal most. I’m still a fledling with months on the clock, so 2 years is some going

    babooshka

    August 17, 2008 at 11:58 pm

  26. Congratulations. I hope my very new blog is still around for you to visit in 2 years.

    Ann

    August 18, 2008 at 1:04 am

  27. Spectacular work, Curly! I know you have faced some extraordinary challenges from the paranoids out there, and out of that follow-up, the world may be a safer place for photographers.

    I’m only approaching a half year, and I hope I can go the distance. Cheers!

    Elaine

    August 18, 2008 at 2:09 am

  28. Wow Curly, 750 posts!
    Happy 2nd Birthday! It does make us feel young doesn’t it? 🙂

    Have a great week ahead!

    keropokman

    August 18, 2008 at 2:17 am

  29. Congrats on 2 years! keep up the enthusiasm and we will see you this time next year. All the best

    Simon Kutcher

    August 18, 2008 at 4:02 am

  30. Oh my goodness, two years! I have done about 60 days and wonder if there’s a year’s worth of photos in my city.
    You are an inspiration. Keep up the good work!

    Virginia

    August 18, 2008 at 4:18 am

  31. Congratulations, two years is a brilliant achievement! We’ve been looking into our stats a bit lately too, and it really is fascinating to see which posts are most popular, where our readers are coming from, and so on.

    Thanks for stopping by at Cape Town Daily Photo, and here’s to your third year of dailyphotoblogging!

    Kerry-Anne

    August 18, 2008 at 5:17 am

  32. Curly,

    I remember dropping by over the past two years and I think your posts and your site have really improved. let’s try for another two years. I will if you will!

    lavenderlady

    August 18, 2008 at 6:44 am

  33. Congratulations Curly; two years of posting is quite a feat with so many wonderful photos and interesting info. Thanks for dropping by to my blog from time to time and for your words of encouragement.

    Gordon

    August 18, 2008 at 3:56 pm

  34. Congratulations!
    Happy 2nd Birthday. I look forward to seeing more posts on SouthShieldsDailyPhoto.

    Moon

    August 18, 2008 at 11:08 pm

  35. Wow, congratulations on your 2nd year! I’m sorry I’m late with my greeting — my husband and I took the weekend off. Looking forward to seeing more photos from you.

    Hilda

    August 19, 2008 at 3:50 am

  36. Congratulation happy birthday

    bergson

    August 19, 2008 at 10:31 pm

  37. Congratulations! I thought I commented here already but… Hey, the time goes by so quickly. It was like yesterday, you have left comment on our blog for asking a link.
    I’m glad you joined the community and continue to contribute such a great work. – So thanks to Eric as well.

    You have had tough days – and so the one in recent – but keep doing what you believe and we know that you have doing right and excellent manner.

    Keep up good work!

    ben

    August 21, 2008 at 5:47 am


Leave a Reply

