South Shields Daily Photo

A collection of images from South Shields and the North of England

Inverse swan…..

with 3 comments

Swan, Fellgate Lake near South Shields

….or Swan Lake?

We would normally find lots of swans in South Shields South Marine Park, but I photographed this one at the Fellgate Lakeside in Jarrow. Lurking amongst the reeds and bullrushes it almost eluded my attention as I focused on men who were fishing in the adjacent lake.

This swan looked so serene and calm that I could not leave without trying for a glassy reflection in the still water.

How many of you have noticed that the picture has been deliberately posted upside down?

Camera details; Pentax K100D, 450mm lens, 1/350 second, f5.6, iso 200

Map

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Written by curly

May 17, 2008 at 12:01 am

Posted in Birds, Black and White, Jarrow, Photoshop

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like that picture. Incidentally, my town is called “swan town”.
    To add a little colour to your real swan, here is a swan story –

    http://yantouch.wordpress.com/2005/07/20/the-swan/

    Yan

    May 17, 2008 at 4:40 am

  2. This is a magnificent shot. Like the ballet! I read your comments before really looking so I don’t know if I would have noticed you’d posted upsidedown. I ‘think’ I would because you can tell – indeed it’s beautiful that you did it this way. Of course, perhaps I wouldn’t have noticed…

    Jilly

    May 18, 2008 at 12:57 pm

  3. Hello there, your photo is spectacular. such bueaty and grace from a wonderful swan. I am crying at the sight of this photo who would think not a week before you took this photo his pen mate had just laid her first eggs. He was to be a daddy. Until she was killed on the lake and her nest destroyed.He is not only a wonderful bird he has become my hero so brave and worth so much more than what has happened to him in his little four years here. I would be so gratful if I could buy this pfoto from you. Thank you

    clare

    June 11, 2008 at 9:26 pm


Leave a Reply

