South Shields Daily Photo

A collection of images from South Shields and the North of England

Going hungry

with 4 comments

Bird of prey, South Shields

Bird of prey

Here is a bird that I could not get up close and personal with.

I’m afraid that my knowledge of birds is as strong as my knowledge of plants, it’s pretty poor, so perhaps I will have to rely upon someone else to identify it.

For some time I have noticed this bird of prey hovering quite still over the longer grass at Trow Quarry, South Shields, and once or twice I have spotted it sitting high up alone on Trow Rocks. One day I found it perched on the corner of a waste skip and was surprised by it’s size, about eighteen inches tall with heavy legs and powerful talons, but until yesterday I never had the opportunity to capture it with my camera.

This picture was taken at 3.15 yesterday afternoon and I’m afraid that it’s the best of a series of eight frames. It was hovering over the remaining sands and rocks at Graham Sands, about one hundred feet above ground at high tide, virtually still yet in a very stiff breeze, facing the sea. It plunged below and swooped low, returning to it’s station with nothing but a few short strands of grass and straw in it’s claws. This bird must have been quite hungry because it was not interested in my presence at all.

I’ll keep returning in the hope of getting a better picture of this kite, kestrel, hawk, or even owl.

Camera details; Pentax K100D, 450mm lens, 1/1000 second, f5.6, iso 200

Map

Written by curly

March 18, 2008 at 12:01 am

Posted in Birds, Colour, South Shields

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks like a hawk of some sort. Birds are difficult to capture when in flight … tracking with autofocus is sometimes frustrating and counter productive, missing the shot while the camera hunts for focus.

    Chuck

    March 18, 2008 at 6:38 am

  2. Curly
    Pretty sure it’s a kestrel.We’ve seen one or more on quite a few occasions in that area. There’s also often a pair to be seen around Souter. PS Could the proposed new hotel at Gypsies Green become a base for twitchers?

    Westy

    March 18, 2008 at 11:16 am

  3. Fantastic photo!
    And I swear I’ve seen this bird over at my blog on Sunday 16/3!

    AraratDailyPhoto

    March 19, 2008 at 7:24 am

  4. I looks like the one that stops off in my garden every Sunday between 3-4 pm

    -Kyle

    Kyle

    March 19, 2008 at 11:10 am


Leave a Reply

