South Shields Daily Photo

A collection of images from South Shields and the North of England

A little piece of England

with 6 comments

England flag, South Shields

An Englishman’s home is his castle (or allotment.)

Most towns and cities in the UK share a love of gardening and growing fruits and vegetables, and just as in South Shields small plots of land scatter the vista ploughed and furrowed, fertilized and riddled by small allotment holders who have no garden of their own. The allotments are generally rented from local councils allowing people to experience the pleasure of growing their own food or competing to grow oversized onions or leeks or carrots. The plots become developed with wooden and glass potting sheds or greenhouses and a small metropolis feeds from an equally small water supply. Men (and women) come to these allotments and build their own castles, mend their own fences, clearly defining boundaries with their neighbours sitting in their sheds mulling over cups of hot tea and packets of seed. It is here that they will raise their standard.
Are they building their own Jerusalem?

And did those feet in ancient time
Walk upon England’s mountains green?
And was the holy Lamb of God
On England’s pleasant pastures seen?
And did the countenance divine
Shine forth upon our clouded hills?
And was Jerusalem builded here
Among those dark satanic mills?

Bring me my bow of burning gold!
Bring me my arrows of desire!
Bring me my spear: o clouds unfold!
Bring me my chariots of fire!
I will not cease from metal fight;
Nor shall my sword sleep in my hand
Till we have built Jerusalem
In England’s green and pleasant land.

William Blake.

Camera details; Konica Minolta Dimage Z3, 355mm lens, 1/200 second, f4.5, iso 400

Map

Written by curly

January 9, 2008 at 12:01 am

Posted in Colour, South Shields

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rather worryingly every time I land at Heathrow I find myself humming Jeruselem or ……..’to be a pilgrim’. I should get back there more often 🙂

    Clarice

    January 9, 2008 at 2:54 pm

  2. Nice post. It made me wish I was back over there again!

    Alicia

    January 9, 2008 at 3:24 pm

  3. I’ve seen the word allotment, but never knew what it referred to. Before now, that is.

    Mari-Nanci

    Mari-Nanci

    January 9, 2008 at 6:26 pm

  4. Hi Curly, is that photograph of the Ullswater Gardens area? Just wondering. I think I can see the rooftops of the hospital and St Wilfrid’s College

    S Wilson

    January 10, 2008 at 12:00 am

  5. Steve, that’s a very good reason why I supply a map link (to save you a lot of puzzling!)

    Curly

    January 10, 2008 at 8:31 pm

  6. Thanks!

    S Wilson

    January 13, 2008 at 3:16 pm


Leave a Reply

