South Shields Daily Photo

A collection of images from South Shields and the North of England

Getting rid of the turkey!

with 6 comments

Cleadon mill, South Shields

Cleadon Mill, South Shields

It’s Boxing Day, and I’m still a little tired.

Christmas Day was mostly spent out of the house visiting, we went to see my father and open gifts with him, then moved on to my wife’s parents where we did the same before settling down to a late, and rather heavy, lunch. Very traditional, roast turkey, ham, roast potatoes, sweetcorn, peas, roast parsnips, brussels sprouts, and cranberry sauce, followed by a large sherry and brandy trifle with fresh cream. I was crammed!

So late yesterday afternoon just as the sun was setting I took a stiff walk to the summit of Cleadon Hill, South Shields, once around the old mill, then headed back, before returning home with two tired children.

I will probably do something similar today.

Oh, by the way, it’s not snowing here (yet), it’s just a special effect until the 2nd. January, hope you all like it!

Camera details; Pentax K100D, 200mm lens, 1/180 second, f6.7, iso 200

Map

Written by curly

December 26, 2007 at 12:01 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Indeed it is very beautiful! Looks like you’re stuffed 😀 Hope you enjoying Boxing Day!

    Please forgive me if my visit to your blog in the coming week is slightly spasmodic, as I am home in Manila spending some precious time with the most important people in my life, and enjoying the warmth. Your visits to my blog/s, however, are much appreciated!

    joy
    Norwich Daily Photo
    The Goddess In You
    Your Love Coach

    joy

    December 26, 2007 at 2:23 am

  2. Great photo, and loved that description of Christmas dinner…really good–hope you have a happy new year!

    b.c.

    December 27, 2007 at 9:53 pm

  3. I do enjoy both this visual scenery and the snowfall. Pretty in pink this sky is lovely. I wonder how you got this snowy weather pattern on your blog.

    Rob

    December 28, 2007 at 9:14 pm

  4. Yes….could you please leave the code for the snow? I would like to try to add it to one of my websites!

    Chris

    December 29, 2007 at 1:03 am

  5. Hi have just found your web site and would like to say this scouser found it really good ,some of the photos are great, some of the comments made me laugh ,happy 2008 to all you sanddancers

    william sherwood

    December 30, 2007 at 1:25 pm

  6. Love the warm colours and especially like the coastline on the horizon disappearing into the distance (Robin Hood’s Bay in North Yorkshire at the furthest point I think?)

    S Wilson

    January 4, 2008 at 10:12 pm


Leave a Reply

