South Shields Daily Photo

A collection of images from South Shields and the North of England

Two little clouds

with 7 comments

Sandhaven Beach, South Shields

Click picture to enlarge.

I was struck not only by the tranquility of the beach early one morning, but also by the clarity of the sky, and the cleanliness of the sands at low tide. The wide angle lens and polarising filter seduced me into thinking of the Mediterranean sunshine resorts. That’s the magic of “sunny Shields.”

Camera details; Pentax K100D. 28mm lens, 1/500 second, f22, circular polariser.

Map

Written by curly

October 11, 2007 at 12:01 am

Posted in Beach, Colour, South Shields

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow! the photo is awesome đŸ™‚

    alaya

    October 11, 2007 at 2:53 am

  2. Curly – before I scrolled down to the bottom of the description, I was going to ask you, “Polarizer?” You put it to good use. The colors are indeed very Mediterranean (Could you pass this off as the south of France?) I bet it’s getting chilly on your beaches, though.

    Thank you for your comment today. To answer your question:

    I’ve only decided to go RAW in the last couple of weeks. I had read comments by professional photographers that high-res JPG was just fine for almost anything besides fine-art work and expensive portraits. Besides, RAW files take up so much room on your memory card and hard drive. I mostly use a Canon 5D and the RAW files are in the 12 to 14 MB range. However, I’ve been converted. We photographers will never achieve perfection but using RAW allows us to approach it more closely. You can make a final product of enormously better quality if you are want more than whatever image falls off your card.

    I downloaded a demo of Lightroom and can’t quite figure it out. The finished, saved image often had a greenish cast I didn’t see when editing it. It also produced an enormous tiff version on my hard drive that I didn’t ask for. I may be doing something wrong but I did not find Lightroom intuitively easy to use although I am experienced in Photoshop. Now I’m doing the initial editing in Bridge and finishing in in Photoshop CS3. I had to re-edit today’s photo from scratch because of the color cast I got in Lightroom.

    Bob

    Strangetastes

    October 11, 2007 at 2:53 am

  3. Reminds me of Greece, like in “Shirley Valentine.” Aren’t you glad we can click on it and make it bigger, so that we can get even more enjoyment out of it? I am!

    Thanks for visiting L is for Legs at Portland (OR) Daily Photo. It’s a one-hundred-percent true story!

    Lynette

    October 11, 2007 at 6:48 am

  4. I’m always fascinated by “Low Tide” Pictures. This is a great shot.

    Ann (MobayDP)

    October 11, 2007 at 3:46 pm

  5. love your photo

    maria

    October 11, 2007 at 5:38 pm

  6. Peaceful! I like the colors!

    Helen

    October 12, 2007 at 9:05 am

  7. Curly, this is an incredible low tide beach shot.

    Gwen

    October 12, 2007 at 6:36 pm


Leave a Reply

