South Shields Daily Photo

A collection of images from South Shields and the North of England

Arachnid, West Park, South Shields

with 7 comments

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Here’s one for the web!

I didn’t see Miss Muffet sitting on her tuffet, perhaps she’d been frightened away?

I found this little chap in South Shields’ West Park this morning just coming out for his breakfast. He’s not as big as the tarantulas that we saw in the museum yesterday when they were feeding rabbits and rats to pythons – what a day to leave your camera at home – but he’s big enough to scare a few people!

Camera details; Pentax K100D, lens 82mm, 1/60 second, f13, fill flash, iso 200

Map

Written by curly

September 16, 2007 at 12:01 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Have you borrowed Old Man Lincoln’s spider from a few days ago? Not your common a garden house spider. They breed them tough in Tyneside!

    Gails_man

    September 16, 2007 at 12:14 am

  2. Now that fellow is spectacular.

    Per Strömsjö

    September 16, 2007 at 12:23 am

  3. Now that is a great photo! Unlike most people, I like spiders.

    joy
    Your Love Coach

    joy

    September 16, 2007 at 11:22 am

  4. Spiders are so fascinating, and not at all scary at this distance(quite safe on my side of my computer screen on the other side of the world)!

    Beautiful photo.

    CrazyCow

    September 16, 2007 at 12:31 pm

  5. What a great spider photo. When I lived in Wales I had an enormous spider who lived behind the wardrobe in the spare bedroom. He was called Humphrey. One time my ex-husband and his new wife were visiting and sadly I forgot to tell my ex not to kill the spider. I walked upstairs to tell him, only to meet him coming down with ‘something’ wrapped in a piece of newspaper.

    Jilly

    September 16, 2007 at 1:21 pm

  6. Wow, he’s quite a looker; I’m glad he’s on my computer screen and not my window screen!

    Melinda

    September 16, 2007 at 11:17 pm

  7. That’s a nice photo, but I have to admit that I don’t like them.

    JAM

    September 21, 2007 at 5:17 pm


Leave a Reply

