South Shields Daily Photo

A collection of images from South Shields and the North of England

Important old ruins

with 5 comments

Arbeia Roman Fort, South Shields

Arebeia Roman Fort, South Shields

The first stonebuilt Roman Fort on this site was erected in c. ad 160, fourty years later it was rebuilt as a supply base for Hadrian’s Wall, the Roman presence lasted another one hundred years until the fort was burned down in ad 300. Today it is the focal point for tourists and archeologists, with it’s reconstructed western gateway and commanding officer’s house.

Map

Written by curly

July 4, 2007 at 12:01 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting, I generally don’t think about Romans in the UK. You will see some ruins later this week on my site, but not nearly as old!

    To answer your question, Delta is in the 5,000 foot range, and the San Juan mountains to our south go over 14,000 feet. Today’s shot was taken at about 12,000 feet.

    Bill

    July 4, 2007 at 12:50 am

  2. hey just like the black cats, ancient old relics needing re-building .. tee hee just joking curly

    sailerone

    July 4, 2007 at 12:39 pm

  3. I will be a volunteer at the fort in September and am looking forward to being there. The photos of South Shields make it so inviting and I hope I will be able to spend some time walking the seashore.

    Clare, Clinton, New York, USA

    July 4, 2007 at 3:07 pm

  4. I know very little about the Romans in Britain, and this one really is interesting. I didn’t know that the Romans would go that far up north in Britain. Thanks for sharing the info.

    Q

    July 4, 2007 at 9:46 pm

  5. I once had that child passion for archeology but is lost now. Every time I visit ancient ruins though, I can’t help thinking about the people who lived there. I try to see myself in that period of time and reconstruct the building in my mind. It is amazing that they reached so faraway lands. These ruins are living proof of human will and ambitions.

    Barcelona Photoblog

    July 6, 2007 at 11:39 am


Leave a Reply

