South Shields Daily Photo

A collection of images from South Shields and the North of England

The Big Lamp

with 4 comments

Brittania public house, South Shields

The Brittania

The Brittania public House opposite the Town Hall in South Shields has a very large and ornate glass lamp hanging outside of it, and for many years also had a statue of “Brittania” standing near the door, sadly it has now gone. This pub was my ‘local’ a long time ago, yet I have never seen this lamp lit.

So, I thought I’d try and recreate the effect using Photoshop, the picture was taken just after mid day.

Map

Written by curly

May 3, 2007 at 12:01 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. gorgeous shot! love the lighting effect-nicely done.

    chris

    May 3, 2007 at 12:16 am

  2. Wow! Looks mazing. Is it really that big?
    Seda
    Istanbul Photo

    seda

    May 3, 2007 at 7:31 am

  3. I think I can remember that statue … might be showing my age now…

    sailerone

    May 3, 2007 at 10:34 am

  4. Nice work. I like it.


Leave a Reply

