South Shields Daily Photo

A collection of images from South Shields and the North of England

Wuthering Heights

with 2 comments

Marsden Craggs, South Shields

Marsden Craggs

Near the southern edge of South Shields is an old quarry with some ragged jutting hills around it, we know the area as Marsden Craggs. It’s now a nature reserve for fauna, flora, and fowl (probably a few foxes too). This is one of the landscape shots that I promised you two days ago, and it’s quite amazing to think that we have such scenery right on the doorstep!

Evokes memories of the old Kate Bush song;

Out on the wiley, windy moors
We’d roll and fall in green.
You had a temper like my jealousy:
Too hot, too greedy.
How could you leave me,
When I needed to possess you?
I hated you. I loved you, too.

Bad dreams in the night
You told me I was going to lose the fight,
Leave behind my wuthering, wuthering
Wuthering Heights.

Map

Written by curly

March 28, 2007 at 12:01 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Definitely Wuthering Heights is the perfect title. I read passages of the book when at school (it was compulsory) and it was definitely not my kind of reading 🙂 The view reminds me of another book The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle: walking at night thru these moors and to hear the howling has too be quite spooky. Undoubtfully the view must be terrific during the day!

    Barcelona Photoblog

    March 28, 2007 at 9:46 pm

  2. This is a very nice photograph. I like black and white but have a strong opinion on reclaiming land and using it to give Nature back some of what was there. I have seen some marvelous things done in this country as well.

    Thank you too for coming to my blog and for your thoughtful comments about the hawks. I do appreciate it a lot.
    720 pixels
    Brookville Daily Photo


Leave a Reply

