South Shields Daily Photo

A collection of images from South Shields and the North of England

Outstanding flare

with 12 comments

colour

Cookson Parade

I could see that the lady had outstanding flare and ability as well as natural beauty as she got ready to head up South Shields’ carnival, the Cookson Parade, last Saturday. Unfortunately she was in the forming up area on the corner of Westoe Road next to St. Bede’s church, and the original shot had a very busy and fussy background full of brickwork, shrubbery, and people. Not to worry, I thought, use Photoshop and be a little creative!

I duplicated the background layer and used a reveal all mask onto which I painted around her face with a black brush to hide her features from what I was about to do next. Then I activated the non masked area of the layer and applied a radial blur filter set to zoom, and voila! I really should have shown this in South Shields Pixels, my new picture blog for those items that I cannot fit in here (do take a quick look), but this was too good of an opportunity to miss. At least you can see that we can manage to do the exotic and colourful in South Shields, even if it rains.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

Written by curly

July 8, 2008 at 12:01 am

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m happy to be the first to say you did a greeaaat job !!! I am not sure to have understood all steps but I love to see the result.

    Fabrizio - ikol22

    July 8, 2008 at 12:21 am

  2. That’s stunning. Don’t have the patience to do things like this, even if I did have photoshop. Re your question on my last Skywatch post (thanks for dropping by) its simply a zoomed in view over the rooftops of the houses across the road.

    Ann

    July 8, 2008 at 12:58 am

  3. Superb technique creating a very dramatic image. I’ll have to try this. Photoshop is a tool I use every day and yet there is so much mystery and unknown detail to me, as if I see only the tip of an iceberg. Your skill is admirable.

    Strangetastes

    July 8, 2008 at 2:50 am

  4. That is a really cool photo, Curly. :)

    Thien

    July 8, 2008 at 3:26 am

  5. Well treated and an amazing piece of shot !!!

    RamN

    July 8, 2008 at 8:25 am

  6. Hi Curly,

    I am glad you found RAW and I, like you, wished I had known about it earlier. I did not have a camera or was not aware that the Canon cameras I had even had a RAW setting so it takes me a while longer to make these kinds of discoveries.

    You must have lots of time to do creative things using the computer. I just take the pictures but do spend a lot of time looking through the viewfinder trying to get just what I want so that I don’t have to waste another half day trying to decide in the computer what I could have done better.

    I like the end result of your piece and think it makes a beautiful post for the parade. It is a technique I have not tried.

    Abraham Lincoln

    July 8, 2008 at 9:02 am

  7. Nicely done, fits well to the costume.

    april

    July 8, 2008 at 11:27 am

  8. Wonderful!

    Fredrik

    July 8, 2008 at 12:00 pm

  9. Beautifully done. Thanks for letting us know how it was done in Photoshop. I haven’t tried to do anything as elaborate, just sharpen and adjust colors so far.

    Cluelessinboston

    July 8, 2008 at 2:23 pm

  10. I must admit I only shoot in raw now and convert to jpeg or tif for clints needs. This is an outstanding image. Really has the wow factor how you’ve accomplished such a vibrant photo.

    babooshka

    July 8, 2008 at 3:21 pm

  11. I echo the sentiments of others about this – a WOW image.

    And, yes, there are extensive snowfields in Australia, in NSW and northern Victoria. Who knows what global warming will mean for them? Altogether about 10 or so major resorts.

    Sally

    July 8, 2008 at 8:47 pm

  12. Curly! Your shot is better than mine!! LOL!!!!!!!!

    Shiva

    June 28, 2012 at 12:35 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

