South Shields Daily Photo

A collection of images from South Shields and the North of England

A quiet lake

with 5 comments

Barmston Lake near South Shields

Barmston Lake, Washington

I was out for a leisurely drive the other afternoon when I accidentally came across this lake in Barmston, Washington just a few minutes from South Shields. I didn’t even realise that I’d never bumped into it over the past fifty years or so. I eventually found an approach which brought my car to the lakeside to take a picture and I was overwhelmed by a terrible odour. Perhaps it had previously been a sewage treatment plant or the smell was drifting from elsewhere, I felt a little sorry for the folks living in the nearby houses. However, it proved to be a haven for birds and ducks, hence the picture.

Camera details; Pentax K100D, 28mm lens, 1/90 second, f8, iso 200

Map

Written by curly

January 25, 2008 at 12:30 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A lovely photo; superb lighting and composition. I am glad they haven’t invented a way for smells to be sent over the Internet.

    Gordon

    January 25, 2008 at 12:12 pm

  2. A beautiful winter scene. Not very familiar with Washington so will have to take a trip down there one day

    S Wilson

    January 27, 2008 at 11:13 pm

  3. The park behind the Galleries is also a great place to photograph. I lived that way for a year, then Whickham, before the I.O.M.Beautiful lighting on this.

    cloudedyellow

    April 8, 2008 at 8:31 pm

  4. The clouded yellow comment above was mine, but my idiot of a partner was still logged in as “clouded yellow”. He agrees though with the comment.

    babooshka

    April 8, 2008 at 8:35 pm

  5. This is Bowman’s Pond. I grew up in Barmston and once spent about 4 days painting a scene similar to this. It used to be an effluent dump from the nearby Newman’s Works (now defunct). The smell has never seemed to disappear. Depends which way the wind is blowing.

    MS

    May 23, 2008 at 11:43 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

